As an electronics PR agency we are about to embark upon a busy couple of months with the kick off of the UK electronics industry awards season.  Autumn in the UK is a time for people working in the electronics industry (along with their content marketing agency, if we are lucky enough!) to get dressed up to the nines and let their hair down.  Before any of that can happen, there are the entries to organise, write and submit.

The call for nominations for Electronics Weekly’s Elektra Awards arrived in our inboxes this week, and the closing date is fast approaching for the BEEAs from New Electronics and Eureka, EPD&Ts E-Legacy Awards, and the IET Innovation awards.  We have put together a breakdown to help you work out where you fit:




The nmi awards are open to all companies working in the electronics systems industry within the UK, whether you are a member of the nmi or not!  The awards will be celebrating the achievements of companies who have contributed to a thriving microelectronics industry in the UK.  They will take place at Grange Tower Bridge Hotel in London, on the 20th November.

The categories for entries are below and need to be submitted by the 30th September before 4:30pm.
•          The Young Engineer of the Year Award
•          The Semi360 Award
•          The Innovation Award
•          The Collaborative R&D Achievement Award
•          The Low Power Design Innovation Award
•          The Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award
•          The Product Excellence Award
•          The Manufacturing Site of the Year Award
•          The Innovation in Power Electronics Award
•          The Contribution to Industry Award
•          The Company of the Year Award
•          The Environmental Management Award
•          The University Research Group of the Year Award

To enter the nmi awards 2014 click here


The British Engineering Excellence Awards (BEEAs) from New Electronics and Eureka, return for their sixth year and will be held on the 9th October at 8 Northumberland Avenue.

The BEEAs offer engineers from companies of any size to compete in a number of categories, which are designed to demonstrate the ingenuity and dedication to complete and succeed in projects on an international level. The categories are:
•           Consultancy of the year
•           Design engineer of the year
•           Design team of the year
•           Green product of the year
•           Materials application of the year
•           New product of the year (electronic)
•           New product of the year (mechanical)
•           Small company of the year
•           Start-up of the year
•           Young design engineer of the year

The closing date for nominations is the 30th June 2014.

Click here to request an online entry form for each category


Electronics Weekly’s Elektra Awards return this year in new venue, The Lancaster in London on the 26th November.   The awards are open to all companies who have demonstrated innovation in their chosen category between the end of June 2013 and the end of May 2014. This year, with 21 categories, there is plenty to choose from.

The categories are split across 5 sections:
•           Outstanding performers
•           Business awards
•           Engineers of the future
•           Product technologies
•           Internet and technology

**Update: The deadline for nominations for the Elektra awards has been extended to the 11th July 2014!**
Click here for more information on how to enter.

UK electronics industry awards 2014 - IET

The IET are celebrating 10 years of their Innovation Awards.  This year the ceremony will be held at The Brewery in London on the 19th November.  The awards offer engineers and companies across a wide variety of disciplines the chance to be recognised for their achievements.  This year there are 16 categories:

•          Asset Management
•          Built Environment
•          Communications
•          Consumer Electronics
•          Emerging Technology
•          Healthcare Technologies
•          Information Technology
•          Intelligent Systems
•          Manufacturing Technology
•          Measurement in Action
•          Model-Based Engineering
•          Navigation Communications
•          Power / Energy
•          Start-up
•          Sustainability
•          Transport

Click here for more information, and to download an entry form click on the category of your choice from the list on the right hand side.  The closing date for the Innovation Awards is the 25th July 2014.


**Update: The E-Legacy awards are now closed – get ready for next year!**

The E-Legacy awards are back, and this year they are including the electrical and mechanical engineering markets.  The awards will be held on the 9th of September in London’s OXO2. Nominations are open in the following categories until the 18th June:
•           Communication
•           Education
•           Energy
•           Environment
•           Health
•           Sustainability
•           Transportation
Click here to view categories and nominate

Whether you’re a Publitek client or not we are here to help, so if you would like some pointers or even someone to write your entry for you then please give us a call on +44 1225 470000 or e-mail me on [email protected]

If you think awards are out of this world…


On top of all the glitz and glamour of the awards season, Supply Frame have launched The Hackaday Prize.  The competition is aimed at design engineers globally with an open brief to ‘Build the Future’, with the only requirements being to build something, use electronics that are connected to something and to document your process on the dedicated site.  Hit the mark with the judges and you could win a chance to go to space.  For more information please see the Hackaday site.